The prize recognises talent and ingenuity displayed by those embarking on a career in medical education. The prize will be primarily focused on recognising teaching, but consideration will be given to entries that showcase other relevant educational activity.

Candidates will self-nominate through the application process to demonstrate their teaching innovation and excellence. The application will consist of a structured written application form and may be supported by links to other appropriate media (e.g. websites, video or additional materials to help illustrate the innovation). Group applications will be considered, but the input of each individual within the group must be made explicitly clear and only one member of the group will be able to present for the prize if shortlisted.

Shortlisted entrants will then be invited to give a ten-minute presentation followed by five minutes of questions at the ASME Annual Scholarship Meeting (ASM) 10th – 12th July 2024 at the University of Warwick, to a panel of judges and an audience as part of the TIE Prize session.

In order to be eligible to enter, candidates must be:

  • An individual ASME member (including discounted TASME membership) AND one of the below:
    • A medical educator still in training, such as a clinical teaching fellow, a doctor or other healthcare professional with a formal educational role, or a trainee who teaches medical students. This individual must be a trainee or within 5 years post foundation years.
    • OR a health professions educator who does not hold a substantive post and is within 7 years post qualification.

This list is not exhaustive. If you are unsure about eligibility please email

Applicants are invited to summarise their education work under four headings. There is a word limit of 600 words for the completed application and each subheading has a word limit of 150 words.

  1. Describe the teaching or other educational activity for which you would like to be considered for this award. Be specific about your own involvement from conception to delivery. Please use the shortlist scoring criteria to guide your answer.
  2. Explain why this activity is particularly relevant to trainees in your clinical area and its relevance to the wider educational community.
  3. Summarise any feedback you have gained from learners, peers or supervisors regarding this educational practice. How has this project influenced your own development as a medical educator?
  4. Summarise the educational rationale for this project – how did you use current evidence to develop your idea and how will you make it sustainable?

If you wish to submit any supporting information with your application, please email it to

Can I query the assessors’ decision regarding my application?

The assessors’ decision is final for all awards and no correspondence will be entered into regarding the outcome, other than providing the applicant with the result and the assessors’ feedback.

Eligible applications will be assessed by the TASME Prizes and Awards panel on the basis of demonstrating:

  • Innovative thinking and activity in medical education
  • Talent and skill in teaching or other educational activity
  • Insight into the issues pertinent to their area of medical education (e.g. undergraduate, post-graduate, specific issues in certain clinical settings or disciplines)
  • Passion, commitment and engagement with wider teams and institutions (e.g. medical school, hospital, deanery)
  • Sustainable, lasting change of educational practice at a personal level or within the institution in which they have been teaching

Applications will be independently scored by two independent markers according to the above scoring criteria, with a final numerical score assigned, and comments gathered and fed back to candidates.

The highest-scoring candidates will be invited to present at the ASME ASM. Successful applicants will be informed by 26th April 2024 and will need to register to attend ASME’s ASM in July to proceed to the final stage.

Successful finalists will be invited to competitively present their work during the ASME ASM, which will be advertised to attract a wide audience of delegates. Candidates will be given ten minutes for their presentation. This time can be used to demonstrate skills in any suitable method, such as a presentation, a teaching session or demonstration of resources. Multimedia technology may be used, although if specialist equipment is required this should be negotiated in advance. There will be five minutes for questions from the panel and audience. The panel of judges will assess the presenters on:

  • Demonstration of innovation
  • Evidence of excellent educational practice
  • Relevance and inspiration for wider population, in particular, other trainees
  • Evidence of sustainability
  • Presentation style

The winner, plus first and second runners-up, will be announced at the end of the session.

  • Registration fee for the ASM 2024 for 1 person will be refunded to the winner after the conference has ended
  • Certificate (issued after the conference)
  • Name engraved on the TIE Prize Shield (after the conference)
  • The winner and runners-up may be invited to share their work through one of ASME/TASME’s outlets throughout the year; for example participating in a Twitter chat about their research, writing a short piece for the website or newsletter, or contributing to a TASME TiME podcast episode.
  • 26th January 2024 – applications open
  • Noon on 28th March 2024 – deadline for applications
  • 26th April 2024 – shortlisted applicants will be informed
  • 10th – 12th July 2024 (ASME ASM, University of Warwick) – Presentations and prize-giving during TASME TIE session (exact date and time tbc)
Previous Winners


Neil Thakrar, Clinical Teaching Fellow, Leicester Medical School
Runners Up:
Conor Boylan, FY2 Doctor, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Maria Ahmad, FYI Doctor, West Hertfordshire Hospitals NHS Trust


Dr Katherine Aiken & Dr Anna Sturgeon, FY2 Doctors, Queen’s University Belfast
Runners Up:
Dr Karl Foster, Surgical Simulation Fellow, Guy’s & St Thomas’ Hospital
Dr Rebecca Stout, ST4 Infectious Diseases, Imperial College London


Dr Christopher Smith, ST6 Intensive Care Medicine, North West School of Intensive Care Medicine

Runners Up:
Johnson Yang Ning Neo, ST5 Ophthalmology, Moorfields Eye Hospital
Dr Dale Kirkwood, ST3 Emergency Medicine, Royal Preston Hospital


Dr Hao Meng Yip, FY2 Doctor, The Royal Free Hospital, London


Dr Cleone Pardoe, Clinical Education Fellow, South Warwickshire NHS Foundation Trust

Runners Up:
Elizabeth Mullen, Clinical Education Fellow, Liverpool University, School of Medicine
Laura Horne, FY2 Doctor, Blackpool Teaching Hospitals
Sophie Butler, Medical Education Fellow, South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust
Housam Monla-Haidar, Clinical Teaching Fellow, Cardiff University 

Scholarship Type Innovation
Intended Audience Medical or other HCP trainees with formal education roles.
Nature of Award Monetary prize, certificate and name engraved on the TIE Prize Shield.
Opens On 5th January 2025