The Educator Development Committee (EDC) of ASME seeks to support and promote the professional development of healthcare educators and to disseminate good practice in medical and healthcare education.

The ASME EDC Educator Development Awards are aimed at providing funding for an individual to further develop themselves as an educator. Options include (but are not limited to) travel to visit a host institution to gain experience in a specific type of teaching, travel to events or conferences, attendance at relevant courses or undertaking a specific educational development in a home institution. In allocating awards, the EDC will take account of the professional development of the individual and will specifically target those who are at an early or mid-stage of their educational career and where other sources of funding are unlikely to be available. Research projects will not be funded, nor will applications to register on certificate, diploma or masters courses. ASME particularly welcome applicants from diverse and under-represented backgrounds. 

The total annual value of available awards is £5,000 divided at the discretion of the EDC to maximise the awards impact. Typically at least two awards are made each year.

The EDC is pleased to announce the 2023 awards and invites applications from members*of ASME.

(*Individual members of ASME, and employees of organisations that are institutional members of ASME) 

Applications are invited from ASME members in the form of

  • a completed online application form
  • a budget
  • a CV (maximum 2 sides of A4)

Please note the CV and budget are to be attached as one .pdf document.

The application must clearly state:

  • the current educational role(s) of the applicant
  • the nature of the development activity
  • when the development activity is due to take place
  • the gain the individual expects from the experience and how this will impact the learners 
  • how this will aid the applicant’s professional development and future educational career.

The budget should also be presented clearly stating the amount the applicant seeks and how this will be used, the total cost of the activity if this is greater than the amount applied for, and details of any funding sought or awarded from bodies other than ASME.

Judging will be undertaken by three members of the core EDC. This will be against the following criteria:

  • the nature of the expected gain and potential educational value for money
  • the likelihood this will be achieved 
  • the effect this will have for the professional development of the individual at their stage of their career
  • the overall quality of the submission.

A copy of the assessment form is available here.

Successful applicants will be required to provide a brief report regarding the outcomes of their activity in the form of an ‘online posting’ (750 words / 2 sides A4 maximum) to be published on the ASME website. It will be a requirement of the award that the educational activity and the ‘online posting’ will normally be required within 12 months of the date of the award.

Where relevant, award recipients may also be invited to present a synopsis of their experience at the ASME Annual Scholarship Meeting (ASM) In such cases ASME would fund the registration fee for the relevant day at the ASM.

Applicants should read the Awards FAQ page as it may help with queries about their submission

Email for more details including Query: EDC EDA Query in the email subject line. Please ask any questions as far in advance of the award deadline as possible to allow us time to reply.

Read all the award guidelines and read the FAQs if you have general award questions and click on the Apply Now button on this page when ready to apply.

The award is live and accepting applications when the Apply Now button is displayed. 


Cindy Chew (University of Glasgow) was awarded the prize for her submission: Medical Humanities: Navigating Communication, Uncertainty and Professional Identity through Theatre and Role Play.

Nariell Morrison (Imperial College London) was awarded the prize for her submission: Cultivating Leaders in Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion within Clinical Education.

Sushil Rodrigues Ranjan (University of Dundee) was awarded the prize for his submission: Practical Artificial Intelligence (AI) integration in Medical Education: Attending AI UK 2024


Sarah Allsop & Steven Jennings, University of Bristol with their submission Building a new Community of Practice for Medical Education Research. They have been awarded funding to develop a new community of practice to support excellence in Medical Education Research at BRMS.

Lynelle Govender, University of Cape Town has received funding to attend SHE at Maastricht for the Writing a PhD Research Proposal course

Cleone Pardoe, Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust for the submission Fostering a diverse workforce – The power of Dyslexia. Funding will be used to attend UK Dyslexia Show 2024

Karthika Shanthakunalan, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust for the submission ENT Simulation-Based Teaching for Medical Students, receiving funding for attending the Norwich ENT Simulation Training Course.


Renee Ewe, Imperial College London, for the submission Digitising medical education: developing the role of serious games in the teaching of clinical reasoning

Ida Nyawata, University of Zambia, for the submission Towards an Intervention Programme for Struggling Medical Students

Ed Whittaker, Edinburgh University Medical School, for the submission Teaching courses and experience during final-year medical elective


Megan Walker, University of Manchester/Manchester NHS Foundation Trust, for the submission: “Challenges of Simulation in the wake of COVID-19”

Scott Morrison, NHS Lothian/The University of Edinburgh: “Learning More to Teach More”


Hannah McCauleyLiverpool School of Tropical Medicine , for the submission:  “International Confederation of Midwives – sharing good practice in global midwife education”
NeeraGajreeUniversity of Glasgow, for the submission: “Teaching medical students about the place of emotions in medicine using Balint groups


Gina Hadley, University of Oxford was awarded funding for the proposal “Eradicating Neurophobia”

Gerens Curnow, University of Exeter was awarded funding for the proposal “Up the Creek – Teaching in Challenging Environments”

Both authors have been invited to present in the EDC session “Innovative, Interesting and Prize-Winning Work” at the ASME ASM, 2019, 3-5 July, Glasgow.


Clare Thomson of Queens University Belfast for her abstract: Lego – Serious Play in medical education


Dr Frederic T Pender of University of Edinburgh for his abstract: Thin blue line: policing, empathy and whistle-blow learning

ASME Group Educator Development Committee
Scholarship Type Practitioner Inquiry
Intended Audience Early or mid-career educators.
Nature of Award Funding towards development costs plus ASM registration for one day if invited to present.
Opens On 30th September 2024