asme gold medal


Highly experienced scholars who have made outstanding national/international contributions to medical education research, innovation, evaluation or practitioner inquiry will be eligible for nomination by an ASME member. The nominee themselves does not need to be an ASME member.  There are no age, nationality, professional, occupational or other barriers to being considered for the award. Preference will be given to individuals who remain active in the field of medical education scholarship. The award thereby is intended to be forward-looking as well as valuing past achievements.


Nominations for the award are now invited from all members of ASME.  To nominate, please complete the online form, which will be available soon:

Information requested will be:

  • Name, address, telephone, email of nominator and nominee
  • Statement in support of nomination, including how nominee matches the award criteria (750 words max)
  • Nominee’s supporting CV
  • Statement/signatures confirming consent of nominee

Award and Selection criteria

The nominations will be scrutinised independently by at least three members of the Board of Directors of ASME, using the following criteria as a guide, to reach a judgement about whether they feel the nomination is suitable for the award of a Gold Medal and an explanation of why/why not:

  • Significance of scholarly contribution to medical education
  • Inter/national reach of scholarly contribution to medical education
  • Alignment to ASME values (Collaboration, Future-focus, Excellence, Scholarliness, Enabling)

The three individual judgments will then be synthesised into a single recommendation (i.e. award / do not award, and a ranking where multiple nominations are deemed suitable for award) for consideration by the full Board of Directors, who will also have the opportunity to look at the individual nominations, and the scores and comments from the three Directors involved so far, that have led up to the recommendation.  The final decision as to the recipient of the award will be made by the full Board of Directors. 

Although the intention is to award the Gold Medal annually, the Board of Directors may not make an award if it is felt that there is no nomination that meets the criteria stated.  In such a situation, feedback may be given to unsuccessful nominees and a resubmission may be suggested. 

The deadline for 2024 nominations has now passed.

Initially awarded for a period of 5 years as The Richard Farrow Gold Medal in memory of his contribution to ASME and his untimely death in 2004, it was renamed the ASME Gold Medal when the 5 year period ended with the presentation in 2011.

2024 – Professor Kevin Eva, University of British Columbia, Canada

2023- Vishna Devi Nadarajah, International Medical University, Malaysia 

2022 – Professor John McLachlan of University of Central Lancashire

2021 – Professor Erik Driessen, Maastricht University, The Netherlands

2020 – Professor Chris McManus, UCL, UK

2019 – Professor Annie Cushing, Barts and the London School of Medicine and Dentistry, QMUL, UK

2018 – Professor Phil Cotton, University of Rwanda

2017 – Dr Mei Ling Young, International Medical University of Malaysia

2016 – Professor Tim Dornan, Queen’s University Belfast, UK

2015 – Val Wass OBE, Keele University, Staffordshire, UK

2014 – Brian D Hodges, University of Toronto, Canada

2013 – Richard L & Sylvia R Cruess, McGill, Canada

2012 – Dr Ara S Tekian, University of Illinois at Chicago, USA

2011 – Dr David Swanson, National Board of Medical Examiners, Philadelphia, USA

2010 – Dr John Norcini, Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates & Foundation for Advancement of International Medical Education and Research (FAIMER), Philadelphia, USA

2009 – Professor Ronald Harden, Dundee, UK

2008 – Professor Cees van der Vleuten, Maastricht University, The Netherlands

2007 – Professor John Simpson, Aberdeen, UK

ASME Group Board
Scholarship Type Research, Practitioner Inquiry, Innovation, Evaluation
Intended Audience Highly experienced scholars.
Nature of Award Lifetime ASME membership and ASM plenary speaker, (including registration and travel expenses).
Opens On 3rd September 2024